30-year celebrations at medieval house
Retiring trustees Catherine and Mary Cutts
An event was held in July to celebrate the 30th anniversary of Bristol’s oldest lived-in house opening to the public.
Forty people attended the celebration, held in the garden of Elsie Briggs House in Westbury-on-Trym. As a special thank you for long service to the charity, photographs of the property were given to retiring trustees of the house, Mary Cutts and Chair, Catherine Richards who has raised £61,000 in appeals over ten years for the property.
The Well, Centre for Spirituality, is based in Elsie Briggs House, a 15th century hall house, next to the Parish Church in Westbury. The property is dated from the authenticated original beam in the attic and the street-facing side of the front door is original. The cottage is an interesting, historical building to explore, featuring a large fireplace, visible beams and a spacious and bright first floor room. Both the bathroom and kitchen have been renovated recently as part of the ongoing project. The garden to the rear is a tranquil, peaceful place.
The property is named after Elsie Briggs, a university lecturer who lived in the house from 1957-1988 and viewed it as a place of great spirituality. She bequeathed the house to the church because she wanted the ministry in the house to continue. Her idea was to have an ecumenical house of prayer and, as such, the trustees have been inviting people of other faiths into the property to join them in prayer.
The house is open for visitors but contact the Warden in advance: 0117 950 7274 or email@example.com